University of Illinois

alumni newsSyndicate content

Mar. 7, 2014

David Larsen (MS '04) has been selected by the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) to receive the 2014 Virginia Boucher-OCLC Distinguished ILL Librarian Award. The award honors professional achievement, leadership, and contributions to interlibrary loan and document delivery. Larsen, head of access services and assessment at the University of Chicago Library, was selected for his innovative and practical approaches to resource sharing, willingness to learn...

Mar. 4, 2014

Stephanie Davis-Kahl (MS '98) has been selected by the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) to receive the 2014 Education and Behavioral Sciences Section (EBSS) Distinguished Education and Behavioral Sciences Librarian Award.

Feb. 26, 2014

Anna Maria Watkin (MS '96), director of the Parkland College Library, and Erika Hackman, director of the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning at Parkland College, will accept the 2014 ACRL Community and Junior College Libraries Section (CJCLS) EBSCO Community College Learning Resources Award on behalf of the project Scholarship at Parkland (SPARK) at the 2014 ALA Annual Conference. The $500 award and plaque, donated by EBSCO Information Services, will be presented at...

Feb. 18, 2014

In collaboration with the Graduate College, GSLIS will host a group of prospective LIS students as part of the Community of Scholars (COS) Campus Visit Program. This program brings admitted graduate students from underrepresented backgrounds to campus to meet with their academic programs and give them the opportunity to network with current and prospective students.

As part of their visit to GSLIS, prospective students will participate in several activities: meetings with current GSLIS COS scholars, student affairs staff, and student leaders; a tour of the GSLIS building; a networking lunch; and the opportunity to...

Feb. 13, 2014

Two GSLIS alumni have won awards from the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). Kimberly Willson-St. Clair (MS '01), along with collegaues at Portland State University, has been selected to receive the 2014 ACRL Instruction Section Innovation Award. Wendy Holliday (MS '02) has received the 2014 ACRL Instruction Section Ilene F. Rockman Publication of the Year Award with co-author Jim Rogers.

adapted from an American Library Association press release

Feb. 5, 2014

Karen G. Schneider (MS '92), university librarian at Holy Names University, Oakland, California, is the 2014 recipient of the American Library Association (ALA) Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award. This award is given biennially to an individual for making positive changes in the profession of librarianship and consists of a 24K gold-framed citation and $1,000 contributed by the Elizabeth Futas Memorial Fund of the American Library Association.

"The 2014 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award jury chose to honor Karen G. Schneider for a career noted by risk taking, inspiring and mentoring colleagues, and making opportunities for change...

Jan. 3, 2014

Lian Ruan (MS '90, PhD '11) is the focus of a recent Illuminate Illinois feature by the Special Libraries Association (SLA) Illinois Chapter. Ruan is the director/head librarian of the Illinois Fire Service Institute (IFSI) Library at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign and an adjunct lecturer at GSLIS. At IFSI, Ruan works to provide resources to firefighters and others in Illinois and across the country. She also connects with GSLIS students who work as assistants at...

GSLIS on Youtube GSLIS on Twitter GSLIS on LinkedIn GSLIS on Facebook