Library School Alumni Association

The mission of the Library School Alumni Association (LSAA) is to support the Graduate School of Library and Information Science (GSLIS), to encourage active participation of alumni in the programs of GSLIS and LSAA, to encourage students to become active, lifelong supporters of GSLIS and LSAA, and to be a partner with the University of Illinois Alumni Association in supporting alumni in their professional lives.

To make a gift in support of the activities of the LSAA, visit our secure giving page and select the LSAA Operating Fund on the LSAA tab.

For more information, e-mail gslis-advancement [at]


As a GSLIS alum you are automatically a member of LSAA, which entitles you to several valuable benefits and services. To find out more about these and other membership upgrades, please visit the University of Illinois Alumni Association.

2015-2016 LSAA Board Members

President: Donna LaFollette (MS '09)
Vice President: Stephanie Atkins (MS '99)
Secretary: Linda Sloat (MS '76)
Treasurer: Donna Schaal (MS '00)
Past President: Ethan A. Henderson (MS '07)
Director 2013-2016: Linda Anselmo (MS '10)
Director 2014-2017: Wayne Bivens-Tatum (MS '00)
Director 2015-2018: Jeffrey Sichaleune (MS '04)
Director 2015-2018: Barbara D'Angelo (MS '97)
Student Representatives: Clair Irwin (MS), Kristyn Caragher (CAS), Kinyetta Nance (PhD)

According to the LSAA Bylaws, The officers (of LSAA) shall be a president, a vice-president/president elect, past-president, a secretary, a treasurer, and four directors. Officers and directors must be members in good standing of the LSAA.

Officers and directors shall be elected for three-year terms with elections held at the annual meeting. The term of office begins at the close of the annual meeting. Officers and directors may be elected for no more than two consecutive terms. The vice-president shall serve a one-year term as vice-president, a one-year term as president, and a one-year term as immediate past president.

Subject to the approval of the executive board, the Dean of the GSLIS shall appoint: a member of the GSLIS faculty or staff to serve as liaison between the GSLIS, the LSAA, and the UIAA office; and one or more students currently enrolled in the GSLIS program to serve as student members. The Dean of the GSLIS, and the GSLIS faculty-staff liaison, and the student members shall be members ex officio of the executive board. The Dean of the GSLIS, the GSLIS faculty-staff liaison are ex officio without vote; the student members shall be members ex officio with vote.

Past Presidents

2014-15: Ethan Henderson (MS '07)
2013-14: Jim Obst (MS '04)
2012-13: Rachel Bindman (MS '02)
2011-12: Beth McNeill (MS '89)
2010-11: Mary Jane Petrowski (CAS '94)
2009-10: Cynthia Helms (MS '79, CAS '04)
2008-09: Julia Derden (MS '06)
2007-08: Mary Ellen Davis (MS '81)
2006-07: Nanette Wargo Donohue (MS '03)
2005-06: Donna Dziedzic (MS '73)
2004-05: Mary Ann Pohl (MS '01)
2003-04: Roslyn Wylie (MS '93)
2002-03: Linda Miller (MS '75)
2001-02: Nancy Gillfillan (MS '66)
2000-01: Brenda McElroy Pacey (MS '78)